Hillary Dumoulin is the Peterborough Folk Festival’s 2018 Emerging Artist

Lakefield-born musician will open for Terra Lightfoot at festival kick-off concert at Market Hall on August 17

Hillary Dumoulin

The Peterborough Folk Festival announced yesterday (July 17) that folk singer-songwriter Hillary Dumoulin is the recipient of the 2018 Emerging Artist Award.

The 23-year-old Lakefield native first performed publicly when she was 13 years old, at The Spill (now closed) in downtown Peterborough.

Primarily self-taught, Dumoulin released her self-titled EP in 2016, the same year she won the 15th annual Songs Revealed competition at Durham College.

“She had a strong sense of song craft, an original turn of phrase, and a great marriage of beautiful melodies and lyrics,” said singer-songwriter David Leask, one of the judges for that competition.

VIDEO: “7 Months” – Hillary Dumoulin

In April of this year, Dumoulin released her first full-length album Fool’s Gold. You can listen to her music on Spotify, iTunes, Google Play, and Apple Music.

As the 2018 Emerging Artist, Dumoulin will be opening for Juno-nominated Hamilton singer-songwriter Terra Lightfoot at the Peterborough Folk Festival’s kick-off concert on Friday, August 17th at Market Hall Performing Arts Centre (140 Charlotte St., Peterborough, 705-749-1146).

Tickets are $30 and are available the Market Hall Box Office or online at markethall.org.

The Emerging Artist Award is selected by a committee who assess applicants on skill, dedication, and artistic merit. Applicants may be solo artists, groups, or bands and must live in Peterborough and te Kawarthas and be under the age of 30.

Dumoulin joins a long list of local musicians who have been named Emerging Artist, including:

  • 2017 – Mary-Kate Edwards
  • 2016 – Nick Procyshyn
  • 2015 – Evangeline Gentle
  • 2014- The Lonely Parade
  • 2013 – Dylan Ireland
  • 2012 – Jos Fortin
  • 2011 – Melissa Payne
  • 2010 – Kate LeDeuce
  • 2009 – Missy Knott
  • 2008 – Sean Conway
  • 2007 – Dave Simard & Kelly McMichael
  • 2006 – Drea Nasager
  • 2005 – Benj Rowland
  • 2004 – Beau Dixon
  • 2003 – Jill Staveley
  • 2002 – James McKenty
  • 2001 – Serena Ryder