Political neophyte Michelle Ferreri unseats former Liberal Cabinet minister Maryam Monsef in Peterborough-Kawartha

Greater Kawarthas region goes all Conservative in 2021 federal election

Michelle Ferreri, MP for Peterborough-Kawartha. (Campaign photo)
Michelle Ferreri, MP for Peterborough-Kawartha. (Campaign photo)

Although the Liberals have again formed a minority government, political neophyte Michelle Ferreri has unseated former Liberal Cabinet minister Maryam Monsef in Peterborough-Kawartha.

This is only the second time in almost 60 years that Peterborough-Kawartha, known as a bellwether riding, has elected a candidate who is not a member of the party that has formed the federal government. The only other time was in 1980, when Progressive Conservative Bill Domm defeated Liberal Sylvia Sutherland in the federal election when the Liberal Party, led by Pierre Trudeau, won a majority.

Ferreri, a social media marketer and former broadcaster running for political office for the first time, defeated Monsef — who has been a Cabinet minister in the past two Liberal governments led by Justin Trudeau — by 2,738 votes.

Advertisement - content continues below



Although Ferreri’s campaign was not without controversy, when it was revealed she was campaigning at long-term care homes without being fully vaccinated, Monsef likely lost support as a result of a comment she made in August when she referred to the Taliban as “our brothers”.

The comment infuriated many Canadians despite a later clarification from Monsef, whose family fled the Taliban in the 1990s, that it was a cultural reference.

In the rest of the greater Kawarthas region, Conservatives were re-elected in all three ridings.

In Northumberland—Peterborough South and Haliburton—Kawartha Lakes—Brock, Conservative incumbents Philip Lawrence and Jamie Schmale easily held on to their ridings, beating the Liberal candidates by almost 8,000 and 20,000 votes respectively.

In Hastings—Lennox and Addington, Conservative Shelby Kramp-Neuman defeated Liberal candidate Mike Bossio by almost 6,000 votes. Derek Sloan, who was the Conservative incumbent until he was expelled from caucus in January 2021 for controversial comments, ran in Banff-Airdrie with no party affiliation (where he came in fifth).

Here are the official final results from Elections Canada from all four ridings in the greater Kawarthas region, as of September 27.

Advertisement - content continues below




297/297 polls reported

  Candidate Votes  
Michelle Ferreri – Conservative Party of Canada 39.0%
27,402 votes
Maryam Monsef – Liberal Party of Canada (incumbent) 35.1%
24,644 votes
Joy Lachica – New Democratic Party 18.9%
13,302 votes
Paul Lawton – People’s Party of Canada 4.4%
3,073 votes
Chanté White – Green Party of Canada 2.2%
1,553 votes
Robert M. Bowers – Independent 0.3%
218 votes

Total number of valid votes: 70,212
Rejected ballots: 395
Total number of votes: 70,607


Northumberland—Peterborough South

300/300 polls reported

  Candidate Votes  
Philip Lawrence – Conservative Party of Canada (incumbent) 44.5%
31,015 votes
Alison Lester – Liberal Party of Canada 33.5%
23,336 votes
Kim McArthur-Jackson – New Democratic Party 14.1%
9,809 votes
Nathan Lang – People’s Party of Canada 5.5%
3,813 votes
Christina Wilson – Green Party of Canada 2.5%
1,764 votes

Total number of valid votes: 69,737
Rejected ballots: 459
Total number of votes: 70,196

Advertisement - content continues below



Haliburton—Kawartha Lakes—Brock

262/262 polls reported

  Candidate Votes  
Jamie Schmale – Conservative Party of Canada (incumbent) 52.3%
35,418 votes
Judi Forbes – Liberal Party of Canada 23.1%
15,645 votes
Zac Miller – New Democratic Party 14.4%
9,730 votes
Alison Davidson – People’s Party of Canada 7.0%
4,769 votes
Angel Godsoe – Green Party of Canada 2.5%
1,696 votes
Gene Balfour – Libertarian Party of Canada 0.7%
463 votes

Total number of valid votes: 67,721
Rejected ballots: 493
Total number of votes: 68,214


Hastings—Lennox and Addington

203/203 polls reported

  Candidate Votes  
Shelby Kramp-Neuman – Conservative Party of Canada 45.1%
24,651 votes
Mike Bossio – Liberal Party of Canada 34.9%
19,056 votes
Matilda DeBues – New Democratic Party 11.0%
6,020 votes
James Babcock – People’s Party of Canada 5.7%
3,131 votes
Reg Wilson – Green Party of Canada 1.5%
971 votes
Jennifer Sloan – Independent 1.5%
838 votes

Total number of valid votes: 54,667
Rejected ballots: 296
Total number of votes: 54,963


This story has been updated with the official vote counts from Elections Canada.